Patrick Weinhold

tagesschau / ARD
Editor-in-Chief for Social Media
Topic:
It’s 8:15 pm – tagesschau’s development from daily TV news to a digital multi-channel brand

Hamburg, summer 2012: The staff in the tagesschau editorial office are preparing for the evening news broadcast. 90% of the employees – editors, graphic artists and cutters – are working towards the linear TV programme that runs every day at 8 pm.

Hamburg, 2020: In the new cross-media news house, service providers from TV, tagesschau.de, news app and social media are discussing the hot topics of the day and devising strategies for their respective channels. In addition to the TV news, tagesschau now reaches a large share of its audience via digital channels. It has become the most successful news brand in Germany and one of the country’s top 20 iconic digital brands with over nine million followers on Instagram, YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and TikTok.

10 key decisions have paved the way to (digital) success – and they will form the basis for an exciting forum!

Short CV:

Patrick Weinhold manages the social media editorial team at tagesschau. He has been helping to develop the newsroom’s digital channels since mid-2013 and has been responsible for tagesschau’s social media strategy and content since early 2016. During this time, tagesschau has anchored its position as Germany’s most successful news brand on third-party platforms.

In addition to accounts on TikTok, Instagram, YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and various messenger services, Patrick Weinhold’s editorial team has also made award-winning social media productions such as “Throwback89” to commemorate the fall of the Berlin Wall, which won the German Award for Online Communication in October 2020. In March 2020, the tagesschau editorial team won the Golden Blogger Award for the “Best TikTok Account of 2019”.

Patrick is a member of the Digital Steering Committee of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), where he acts as the elected German ambassador for ARD and ZDF. The committee provides European media providers with advice and support for digital transformation processes.

digitalsummiteuregio
digitalsummiteuregio
digitalsummiteuregio

Organisers

Patrick Weinhold

tagesschau / ARD
Redaktionsleiter Social Media
Thema:
Es ist 20:15 Uhr – von der TV-Marke Tagesschau zur Digitalen Multichannel-Brand

Hamburg im Sommer 2012: In der Redaktion der Tagesschau bereitet man sich auf die abendliche Nachrichten-Sendung vor. 90 % der Mitarbeitenden – Redakteur:innen, Grafiker:innen und Cutter:innen – arbeiten täglich auf die lineare TV-Übertragung um 20 Uhr hin.

Hamburg im Jahr 2020: Im kürzlich bezogenen crossmedialen Nachrichtenhaus diskutieren Dienstleiter:innen von TV, tagesschau.de, Nachrichten-App und Social Media in der „Center Unit“ über die Themen des Tages und Umsetzungsideen für ihre jeweiligen Ausspielwege. Neben dem Fernsehen erreicht die tagesschau ihr Publikum inzwischen zu großen Teilen im Digitalen. Im Social Web – auf Instagram, YouTube, Facebook, Twitter und TikTok – ist die Tagesschau mit mehr als neun Millionen Abonnent:innen die erfolgreichste Nachrichtenmarke in Deutschland und zählt zu den Top 20 der bekanntesten Digital-Marken der Republik.

10 zentrale Entscheidungen haben den Weg für den (digitalen) Erfolg geebnet –  sie sollen die Basis für einen spannenden Austausch bilden!

Kurz-CV:

Patrick Weinhold leitet die Social-Media-Redaktion der Tagesschau. Seit Mitte 2013 baute er die digitalen Ausspielwege der Nachrichtenredaktion mit auf und trägt seit Anfang 2016 die strategische und inhaltliche Verantwortung für die Auftritte der Tagesschau im Social Web. In dieser Zeit hat sich die Tagesschau als erfolgreichstes Nachrichtenangebot Deutschlands auf Drittplattformen etabliert.

Zum Portfolio von Patrick Weinholds Redaktion gehören neben Accounts auf TikTok, Instagram, YouTube, Facebook und Twitter sowie diversen Messenger-Angeboten auch preisgekrönte Social-Media-Produktionen wie „Throwback89“ zum Mauerfall-Jubiläum, das im Oktober 2020 mit dem Deutschen Preis für Onlinekommunikation ausgezeichnet wurde. Im März 2020 erhielt die Tagesschau-Redaktion den Goldenen Blogger-Award in der Kategorie „Bester TikTok-Account 2019“.

Als gewählter deutscher Vertreter sitzt Patrick für ARD und ZDF im Digital Steering Committee der European Broadcasting Union (EBU), das europäische Medienanbieter in digitalen Transformationsprozessen berät und unterstützt.

digitalsummiteuregio
digitalsummiteuregio
digitalsummiteuregio

Veranstalter